Monday, June 20, 2011

Turbo cars lead BTCC

The 2011 British Touring Car Championship is now already midway through its season.

So far, it has been rather dominated by the contentious issue of performance parity between the turbocharged and normally-aspirated cars, although another boost reduction introduced for the most recent round at Croft seems to have helped a lot.

That said, the championship table remains dominated by cars running NGTC engines, with sixth-place Jason Plato in his Chevrolet Cruze seemingly the only non-turbo entrant with any realistic prospect of taking the title.

Chevrolet Cruze Super 2000 2011 (Plato) Front Side
Chevrolet Cruze Super 2000

The series now takes its long summer break, with the next event taking place at Snetterton on 7th August.

2011 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship: Standings After Five Rounds
Pos. Driver Team Car Points
1 Matt Neal Honda Racing Team Honda Civic 140
2 Mat Jackson Airwaves Racing Ford Focus 131
3 Gordon Shedden Honda Racing Team Honda Civic 120
4 Andrew Jordan Pirtek Racing Vauxhall Vectra 111
5 James Nash 888 Racing with Collins Contractors Vauxhall Vectra 104
6 Jason Plato Silverline Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 100
7 Robert Collard WSR BMW 320si 66
8 Tom Chilton Team Aon ‘Global’ Ford Focus 64
9 Alex MacDowall Silverline Chevrolet Chevrolet Cruze 47
10 Paul O’Neill with tech-Speed Chevrolet Cruze 32
11 Tom Boardman Special Tuning Racing Seat Leon 31
12 Nick Foster WSR BMW 320si 27
13 Tony Gilham 888 Racing with Collins Contractors Vauxhall Vectra 12
14 Jeff Smith Pirtek Racing Vauxhall Vectra 12
15 Tom Onslow-Cole Team Aon ‘Global’ Ford Focus 10
16 Andy Neate Team Aon ‘Global’ Ford Focus 9
17 David Newsham Geoff Steel Racing BMW 320si 9
18 Lea Wood Central Group Racing Honda Integra 4
19 Liam Griffin Airwaves Racing Ford Focus 2
20 Rob Austin Rob Austin Racing Audi A4 0
21 Frank Wrathall Dynojet Toyota Avensis 0
22 David Pinkney Rob Austin Racing Audi A4 0
23 John George with tech-Speed Chevrolet Cruze 0
24 Daniel Welch Welch Automotive Proton Gen-2 0
25 Tony Hughes Speedworks Motorsport Toyota Avensis 0
26 Chris James Team ES Chevrolet Lacetti 0
27 Shaun Hollamby AmD Milltek Volkswagen Golf 0

Related posts:

Avensis NGTC racers debut

2011 BTCC entries

Snetterton corner names

No comments:

Post a Comment